Skip to Content

Hockey futures for several school districts remain in question

KASSON, Minn. (FOX 47) – The future of hockey at several schools in our area is up in the air.

Dodge County High School hockey currently draws players from seven nearby districts, but three of them might be removed from participating in the co-op.

The three affected schools are Hayfield, Zumbrota-Mazeppa, and Blooming Prairie, this according to the Hayfield Activities Director, Chris Pack.

Pack says they were informed on Friday of the intention to drop their schools.

But on Tuesday, Kasson-Mantorville Activities Director Broc Threinen said that decision is on hold.

Threinen says, as the largest school in the co-op Kasson-Mantorville can choose to make that decision.

However, it’s unclear as of know if such a decision needs school board approval.

If the decision goes through, Dodge County Hockey would consist only of Kasson-Mantorville, Byron, Triton, and Pine Island.

In Hayfield, two girls on the JV team and about 10 others involved in youth programs might be left without a team to play for in the future.

Pack says the original Dodge County Hockey co-op was formed 21 years ago with Hayfield, Kasson-Mantorville and Triton.

If they were to be removed, he says Hayfield would look to partner with Austin or Rochester Lourdes for hockey.

Holden Krusemark

Skip to content